Team Members


The San Diego LAFCO staff consists of professional support and technical personnel, who are independent of county government. The Executive Officer is directly appointed by the Commission. Since the San Diego LAFCO was created in 1963, the following Executive Officers have been appointed by the Commission:

  • 1963-1970: Robert Small
  • 1971-1976: S.M. "Skip" Schmidt
  • 1977-1979: Mike Gotch
  • 1980-1984: William Davis
  • 1984-1992: Jane Merrill
  • 1992-August 2017: Michael Ott
  • September 2017-present: Keene Simonds

All team members can be reached by calling (858) 614-7755.

San Diego LAFCO Organizational Chart


Executive Officer Keene Simonds
Commission Counsel Holly O. Whatley
Assistant Executive Officer



Chief Policy Analyst Robert Barry
Analyst Linda Heckenkamp
GIS Analyst Dieu Ngu
Commission Clerk Tamaron Luckett
Executive Assistant Ruth Arellano
Adminstrative Assistant Erica Blom
Consultant Ed Sprague